Freedom is deeply rooted in the working class rock of the 70’s and 80’s, giving us a sound like no other. With meaningful lyrics, power chords and mighty choruses, they’re inevitably creating a soundtrack to the journey of life itself. Nicke Andersson once described Freedom as a ”bargain basement Springsteen” – a band making music meant to follow you through thick and thin, far into those never-ending summer nights.

Since Freedom first started in 2019, they’ve established themselves as an amazing live act, filling clubs throughout Sweden with both energy and audience. In 2022 they were honorably chosen to play at the official release party of The Hellacopters at the notorious Hamburger Börs in Stockholm.

The band recently added two new members to the crew: Ola Göransson (Heavy Feather, Stacie Collins) and Matte Gustafsson (In Solitude, Siena Root, Heavy Feather). Their combined experience of heavy roots-rock and sense of stage presence, makes Freedom one of Swedens strongest live bands – guaranteed.

Their self-titled debut album from 2021 became a great topic of conversation, leaving a permanent mark in the rock-world of Sweden. Finally, it’s time for the awaited second album to be released – once again produced by Martin ”Konie” Ehrencrona (Viagra Boys, Håkan Hellström, Les Big Byrd).

Freedom about their new release
“Ah, the difficult second album. We are extremely happy, and a bit nervous, to finally have it see the light of day.  We knew we wanted to do things a bit different this time, and when we knew we wanted to work with a label the choice was pretty easy. The good folks at Wild Kingdom/Sound Pollution are friends of ours and have been avid supporters since day one. It’s a bit scary handing your newborn over to someone but with their long experience and deep love for music we feel it’s in pretty good hands.” 

Enjoy, and stay free! 

Freedom / Magnus, Matte, Mangel & Ola

Freedom is:

Mange Monroe – Sång, Gitarr
Matte Gustafsson – Gitarr, sång
Magnus Lavér – Bas
Ola Göransson – Trummor

Freedom – Stay Free! – out May 17 on Wild Kingdom / Sound Pollution
Pre-save here: